New Jersey Law Enforcement Accreditation Program

NJSACOP – Accreditation

The New Jersey Law Enforcement Accreditation Program (NJLEAP) is a voluntary, state-wide, law enforcement accreditation program, administered through the New Jersey State Association of Chief of Police (NJSACOP), by the NJSACOP Law Enforcement Accreditation Commission. 

NJLEAP currently consists of approximately 112 standards divided into the following areas: 

  • Direction of Personnel
  • Fiscal Control
  • Internal Affairs
  • Disciplinary Procedures
  • Organization
  • Agency Equipment and Property
  • Public Information
  • Agency Records and Computers
  • Training and Accreditation Management
  • Weapons and Ammunition
  • Personnel Benefits and Responsibilities
  • Performance Evaluations
  • Recruitment, Selection, and Promotion of Personnel
  • Special and Auxiliary Officers
  • Arrest Search and Seizures
  • Interview And Interrogation
  • Use of Force
  • Communications
  • Patrol Field Activities
  • Traffic Safety and Enforcement
  • Homeland Security and All-Hazards Plan
  • Criminal Investigation
  • Crime Scene Processing
  • Storage of Evidence and Property
  • Juvenile Function
  • Special Investigations and Operations
  • Transporting Arrestees
  • Processing and Temporary Detention 

The New Jersey Law Enforcement Accreditation Program endeavors to provide New Jersey’s law enforcement community with a uniform set of standards; not only to assist them in complying with recognized best practices in policing but also directives and guidelines issued by the New Jersey Attorney General’s Office. 

Are you interested in NLEAP accreditation?  Are you a member of an NLEAP agency looking for assistance or networking opportunities?  Are you an NLEAP accreditation manager? Does your agency want to see the benefits of accreditation without being involved in an official accreditation process?  If any of these questions pertain to you, we can help! 

Contact us for more information.

Share This